Thomas Senf
 

Roped together in solidarity

Mammut donates 1% of its turnover to mountain guides from emerging nations

Under the slogan "Roped together in solidarity", to mark its anniversary year Mammut has launched a major campaign aimed at supporting mountain guides from emerging countries such as Peru and Kyrgyzstan. Working with the International Federation of Mountain Guides Associations (IFMGA), we will be using 1% of the turnover from sales of our Peaks Collection and the Anniversary Book to ensure that mountain guides benefit from equipment and sound training according to the IFMGA standard.

As well as improving the situation in terms of equipment and training, we also aim to create long-term income prospects for local mountain and trekking guides in Peru and Kyrgyzstan. Peru has therefore been included as one of the destinations in the Mammut Alpine School program. The objective is to attract more tourists and help mountain and trekking guides to earn a regular income to support their families.
 
However, Mammut's commitment to these countries, especially Kyrgyzstan, began long before this and therefore Mammut can look back on several successes since 2007. These include the creation of a mountain guide association as well as the mountain guide training center in Kyrgyzstan, campaigns for clearing and renovation projects for increased sustainability in the mountains.
 
We will remain committed to promoting global sustainability and safety in the mountains in the future, not just today. We care!

 

Mountain guide equipment
Here we present a selection of the products, which have stood the test of mountain environments, used by mountain guides from Peru and Kyrgyzstan:

Daniel Arnold
 

Roped together in solidarity

Mammut fait don de 1 % de son chiffre d’affaires à des guides de montagne de pays émergents

Avec pour slogan « Roped together in Solidarity » (la cordée de la solidarité), Mammut commence son année anniversaire en lançant une vaste action de soutien auprès des guides de montagne de pays émergents comme le Pérou ou le Kirghizstan. La société suisse et l’Union Internationale des Associations de Guides de Montagne (UIAGM) ont uni leurs forces pour venir en aide aux guides de montagne de ces pays en leur fournissant un bon équipement ainsi qu’une formation solide, conforme aux normes de l’UIAGM. Pour cela, Mammut reverse 1 % des fonds récoltés par la vente de sa Peaks Collection et de son livre anniversaire.

Outre l’amélioration de l’équipement et de la formation, nous avons également pour objectif de créer de nouvelles sources de revenu à long terme pour les guides de montagne et de trekking locaux au Pérou et au Kirghizstan. Ainsi, le Pérou a été choisi comme une destination du programme de la Mammut Alpine School, ce qui permettra d’augmenter le nombre de touristes et d’assurer aux guides de montagne et de trekking ainsi qu’à leurs familles un revenu plus régulier.
 
Notre engagement dans ces pays et en particulier au Kirghizstan n’est pas nouveau. Mammut y a entrepris des actions de soutien et les a menées à bien dès l’année 2007 avec la fondation d’une association de guides de montagne et la mise en place d’un centre de formation au Kirghizstan, ainsi que des actions de déblaiement et de rénovation pour préserver le milieu montagneux.
 
Notre engagement n’est pas ponctuel mais s’inscrit dans le long terme, pour plus de durabilité et de sécurité dans les montagnes du monde entier. We care!

 

L’équipement du guide de montagne
Nous vous présentons ici une sélection de produits qui ont fait leurs preuves en haute montagne et avec lesquels les guides de montagne du Pérou et du Kirghizstan ont été équipés :