Thomas Senf
 

Mammut Trail Running Testevent

Testevent 2012

In the summer of 2013, Mammut will be launching a new product segment in the form of the Alpine Performance line.

In preparation for the Trail Running Testevent 2012 campaign, the Mammut team considered the most effective way of appealing to potential participants. An official "call" inviting applications from trail runners of all ages and nationalities was published on Mammut's website. As well as the chance to spend a week preparing for the Swiss Irontrail, participants would also be given the opportunity to test the new trail running products, talk to like-minded enthusiasts and, to round it all off, take part in the photo shoot for our campaign image.

Tuesday morning, May 15, 2012: Mammut headquarters in Seon
The day of truth had arrived. Out of more than 70 applications received, 15 candidates had been shortlisted. It was now up to the jury to make the final choice. It was no easy decision.

Sunday morning, July 1, 2012 (7 a.m.): Pontresina train station
The entire Testevent revolved around the theme of trail running. The final 15 participants had all been kitted out with the new outfits and were ready to put them to a tough test. Clad in their new gear, they took the Rhätische Bahn train and Engadin cable car up to the Diavolezza mountain station. In view of the poor weather forecast, there was not much time to savor the impressive mountain view at almost 3,000 meters. After a short descent to the Pers Glacier moraine, Röbi Bösch used a sketch to explain his vision of the end result of the photo shoot.

The photo shoot quickly got underway. Accompanied by the clicking of the camera, the participants lined up and ran over the narrow trail on the moraine. After a few attempts, the picture was finally in the bag. Just in time to allow everyone to make their way back down to the valley before the threatened storm set in.

However, the photo shoot was just the opening round. The participants attended various workshops and prepared intensively for the Swiss Irontrail. As well as exciting presentations, including by the Swiss air rescue service, REGA, the participants had an opportunity to discuss the latest products in the summer 2013 collection with Mammut athletes and developers.

Friday, July 6, 2012: Pontresina starting area
The tension was growing by the minute. However, in view of the very poor weather conditions the decision was taken to postpone the start of the T201 race by eight hours, to 4 p.m. This did not deter our runners, who had spent the last few days at the Testevent perfecting their preparations for the race. After watching the start of the T201, all the other runners then followed, aiming to reach Chur by the next day at the latest. Hopes were high.

Saturday, July 7, 2012: Chur
Just one hour after the start, the weather was rapidly deteriorating. At more than 2,000 meters above sea level, the runners were suffering from a combination of icy precipitation and falling temperatures. Many quickly reached their limits. As the situation grew worse, at 12.30 a.m. the decision was taken to call off the competition for safety reasons.
 
Sunday, July 8, 2012: Chur
A visit to the thermal spa in Bad Ragaz to recover from the exertions of the previous day rounded off an unforgettable week.

We look forward to seeing everyone again at the Swiss Irontrail 2013, this time in better weather.

 

Mammut Trailrunning Testevent

 
 
 
 
  • Swiss Irontrail

    Are you looking for the ultimate challenge on the alpine trail? Register now!

  • MTR 201 Micro Jacket Men

    $ 139.00

  • MTR 201 Dyneema Women

    $ 159.00

  • MTR 201

    $ 79.95

Reinhard Fichtinger
 

Mammut Trail Running Testevent

Testevent 2012

Im Sommer 2013 lanciert Mammut mit der Alpine Performance Linie ein neues Produktsegment.

Als feststand dass die Trail Running Testevent-Kampagne 2012 zustande kommt, überlegte sich das Mammut-Team, wie man die Teilnehmenden ansprechen könnte. Eine offizielle „Ausschreibung“, bei der Trail Runner von jung bis alt und egal welcher Herkunft die Möglichkeit hatten sich anzumelden, wurde auf der Webseite von Mammut veröffentlicht. Angeboten wurde eine Woche, nicht nur um sich auf den Swiss Iron Trail vorzubereiten, sondern auch, um die neuen Trail Running-Produkte zu testen, mit Gleichgesinnten zu sprechen und letztlich bei unserem Fotoshooting für das Kampagnenbild mitzuwirken.

Dienstagmorgen, 15. Mai 2012: Mammut Headquarter Seon
Der Tag der Wahrheit war angebrochen. Aus den über 70 eingegangenen Bewerbungen, wurden 15 Kandidaten und Kandidatinnen ausgewählt. Die Jury hatte die Qual der Wahl. Es war keine leichte Entscheidung.

Sonntagmorgen, 1. Juli 2012 (07:00 Uhr): Bahnhof Pontresina
Während dem Testevent drehte sich alles um das Thema Trail Running. Die finalen 15 Teilnehmenden wurden allesamt mit den neuen Outfits ausgerüstet, um diese ausgiebig zu testen. Neu eingekleidet ging es mit der Rhätischen Bahn und den Engadiner Bergbahnen hoch zur Bergstation der Diavolezza. Aufgrund der schlechten Wetterprognose, blieb nur kurz Zeit, um das eindrückliche Bergpanorama auf fast 3‘000 Metern Höhe zu geniessen. Nach einem kurzen Abstieg zur Moräne des Pers Gletschers erklärte Röbi Bösch anhand einer Skizze, wie er sich das Endprodukt des Fotoshootings vorstellte.

Zügig wurde das Fotoshooting in Angriff genommen. Begleitet vom Klicken der Kamera, rannten die Teilnehmenden in Reih und Glied  über den schmalen Trail auf der Moräne . Nach einigen Versuchen war das Bild schliesslich im Kasten. Gerade noch rechtzeitig, so dass alle noch vor dem aufziehenden Gewitter den Rückweg ins Tal schafften.

Das Shooting war jedoch erst der Auftakt. Die Teilnehmenden besuchten verschiedene Workshops und bereiteten sich intensiv auf den Swiss Irontrail vor. Neben spannenden Präsentationen, unter anderem von der Schweizer Rettungsflugwacht REGA, erhielten die Teilnehmenden die Möglichkeit mit Mammut-Athleten und -Entwicklern über die neusten Produkte der Kollektion für den Sommer 2013 zu diskutieren.

Freitag, 6. Juli 2012: Startgelände Pontresina
Die Spannung stieg von Minute zu Minute. Als sich das Wetter jedoch von seiner schlimmsten Seite präsentierte, entschied man den Start des T201 Laufes um acht Stunden, auf 16 Uhr zu verschieben. Unsere Runner, die sich in den letzten Tagen beim Testevent optimal auf das Rennen vorbereitet hatten, verunsicherte das aber nicht. Nach dem Startspektakel des T201 folgten auch alle anderen Teilnehmenden, mit dem Ziel spätestens am nächsten Tag in Chur einzutreffen. Man war guter Hoffnung.

Samstag, 7.Juli 2012: Chur
Doch bereits eine Stunde nach dem Start verschlechterte sich das Wetter rapide. Auf mehr als 2‘000 Metern über Meer setzten eisige Niederschläge und fallende Temperaturen den Laufenden stark zu. Viele kamen deshalb rasch an ihre Leistungsgrenzen. Als sich die Lage weiter zuspitzte, entschied das OK um 0:30 Uhr, den Wettbewerb aus Sicherheitsgründen abzubrechen.
 
Sonntag, 8. Juli 2012: Chur
Mit dem Besuch der Therme in Bad Ragaz, um sich von den Strapazen des Vortages zu erholen, ging eine unvergessliche Woche zu Ende.

Wir freuen uns auf ein Wiedersehen beim Swiss Iron Trail 2013, dieses Mal jedoch mit mehr Wetterglück.

Mammut Trailrunning Testevent

 
 
 
 
  • Swiss Irontrail

    Suchst du die absolute Herausforderung auf dem alpinen Trail? Jetzt anmelden!

  • MTR 201 Micro Jacket Men

    SFr. 180.00

  • MTR 201 Dyneema Women

    SFr. 230.00

  • MTR 201

    SFr. 120.00